May 26, 2011 0

Vegetarian wines

By in The Butler Wine-Show

Its National Vegetarian Week.

No, I didn’t know that either.

It might seem incongruous that a drink made from grapes might have vegetarian alternatives, but some animal bi-products do make their way into wine production through the filtration process (used to stop the wine becoming hazy).

Egg white, fish guts and even bulls blood can be used, in minuscule amounts, but if you’re going to be a vegi, you may as well do it properly.

I have example of wines that use no filtration process and ones that filter through clay, and lovely wines they are too. Though ironically both go well with steak. (joke)

If you want to be sure, some labels now carry this information, and producers websites. But any retailer worth their salt should be able to direct you to vegetarian or vegan wines in their shop.

  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply